Review: Top Ten: 2

Top Ten: 2 (Book 2)Top Ten: 2 by Alan Moore
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

There isn’t much that needs to be said, so I’ll be brief. Top Ten: 1 was a great story that interweaved any number of story lines and built compelling characters. Book 2 . . . doesn’t. Oh, it’s got good jokes, and there’s a very nasty shock, and a nice little sub-plot about anti-robot prejudice and coming to terms with grief, and so on, but the concluding round up of the bad guys was just too easy, too simple, too much of a let-down.

So I was pretty disappointed, I have to say. I’d grown fond of the characters, and, for example, I wanted to see more of the doggy Lieutenant than just a couple of frames here and there. In fact, many of the characters didn’t really seem to be getting much page-time, and too many of the conflicts resolved way too easily.

But the mice were good.

View all my reviews

One response to “Review: Top Ten: 2

  1. Hi, Mr P! Long time no see. Very nice place you’ve got here. 🙂

    It’s been a while since I’ve read Top Ten but I *think* my favourite issue of the entire run (the one where two cars materialise into each other and Peregrine has to attend the scene) is in this volume. Apart from that, I’m pretty much in full agreement with you. The series loses focus a fair bit in volume 2. Bendis’ ‘Powers’ came out about the same time as this and, as far as the paedophile ring plot goes, generally does that sort of thing much better. That said, the world in which this series takes place is still phenomenally interesting and I always used to come away from an issue having spotted a shedload of injokes and intertextual references, while having the sneaking suspicion I’d missed a whole lot more!

Leave a Reply

